Grasset was founded in 1907 and has published a number of major twentieth-century novelists, historians and thinkers, including François Mauriac, Henry de Montherlant, Paul Morand, Jean Giraudoux and Daniel Halévy, along with Franz Kafka, Thomas Mann and Stefan Zweig. Grasset quickly became one of the country’s most prestigious publishers. Many of its authors are Nobel laureates or major literary prizewinners; several have been elected to the Académie Française. Today, the firm publishes some of the biggest names in French fiction (Frédéric Beigbeder, Sorj Chalandon, Virginie Despentes, Olivier Guez, Pierre Guyotat, Dany Laferrière, Amin Maalouf, Leonora Miano, Yann Moix, Pascal Quignard), international fiction (André Aciman, Joan Didion, Umberto Eco, Harper Lee, Gabriel García Márquez, J.K. Rowling, Jón Kalman Stefansson) and contemporary thought (Pascal Bruckner, François Jullien, Jean-Luc Marion). Grasset is constantly discovering new talent such as Laurent Binet, Laetitia Colombani, Gaël Faye and Vanessa Springora, whose works are widely translated worldwide and often made into films..